The Minor Arcana

I wrote about the Major Arcana in my last post. Today I will address the Minor Arcana.

The Minor Arcana consists of 56 cards, divided into four suits, derived from the older Latin playing card suits most commonly named Wands or Batons, Cups, Swords, and Coins or Pentacles, although there are a wide variety of different names and suit symbols used. 

The deck is related to the deck of 52 playing cards used in most modern card games.

The four suits are associated with the four elements, fire, water, air, and earth.

Wands = Fire
Cups = Water
Swords = Air
Coins or Pentacles = Earth